CHO Areas

What is a Community Health Care Organisation (CHO)? 

"Community Healthcare Services are the broad range of services that are provided outside of the acute hospital system and includes Primary Care, Social Care, Mental Health and Health & Wellbeing Services. These services are delivered through the HSE and its funded agencies to people in local communities, as close as possible to people's homes". HSE (2016)

The new geographical boundaries for CHOs are:




Area 1: Donegal, Sligo/Leitrim/West Cavan, and Cavan/Monaghan

Area 2: Galway, Roscommon, and Mayo

Area 3: Clare, Limerick, and North Tipperary/East Limerick

Area 4: Kerry, North Cork, North Lee, South Lee, and West Cork

Area 5: South Tipperary, Carlow/Kilkenny, Waterford, and Wexford

Area 6: Wicklow, Dun Laoghaire, and Dublin South East

Area 7: Kildare/West Wicklow, Dublin West, Dublin South City, and Dublin South West

Area 8: Laois/Offaly, Longford/Westmeath, Louth, and Meath

Area 9: Dublin North, Dublin North Central, and Dublin North West